DIY Paleo Chocolate Chips! 

I posted earlier this week about Sinfully Strong Dark Chocolate (post located here). Good news! I have a follow up post for converting it into chocolate chips (hopefully ideal for baking, not that I’d know, since my boyfriend ate them ALL over the course of this week).

The key to making your own chocolate chips?! Silicone oven pads / pod holders.

Yeah, I can’t believe I’d never thought of it either. I actually found this method on a blog somewhere, but I’ll have to credit later, as I can’t locate the post.

Also, a note about silicone oven pads: you can find them on Amazon, and at the grocery store, and they usually run $5 to $8 bucks A PIECE! However, I found that my local 99 Cent Only Store carries them — so, if you’re bargain hunting, be sure to check there first, since they’re only a dollar.

Anyway, this is crazy easy.

Instructions:

  • Rinse and dry your silicone pad(s).
  • Make your chocolate (I used my recipe located here)
  • Spread / pour your chocolate onto the pad. (I had to use a spatula to spread it out).
  • It will look something like this (though, mine isn’t very neat). Also, I recommend but going all of the way to the edges. Leave a couple empty rows so you can touch the edges without disturbing the chocolate.

  • Place your chocolate chips in the freezer / refrigerator to set.
  • After they’ve set, remove the chips from the silicone! I used a cheese spreader, because I found that my fingers would melt the chocolate.

  • Place the chips into the container of your choice, and keep them in the refrigerator.

I can’t wait to add these to pancakes or banana bread. Maybe the next batch won’t get eaten before I have a chance to bake! Hahaha!

Let’s eat and be merry, and healthy! (LEABMAH?)

Xo, Rae

Leave a Reply

